Who was the First Woman President of India?

The first woman president of the India was Pratibha Devisingh Patil.

About Pratibha Patil

Pratibha Devisingh Patil became the first woman who holds the office as a president of the India. She served as a 12th president in India from 2007 to 2012 after conquering her competitor, Bhairon Singh Shekhawat. Currently, she is serving as a member to the Indian National Congress.

She, a daughter of Narayan Rao Patil, was born on 19th of December in 1934 in Nadgaon, Maharashtra, India. She is well educated and got her Masters degree in Political Science and Economics from the Mooljee Jetha College, Jalgaon. She got married to the Devisingh Ransingh Shekhawat on 7th of July in 1965 and has a son and a daughter.

How Pratibha Patil became the First Woman President of India

On 14th of June in 2007, she was selected as the UPA candidate means a candidate of United Progressive Alliance. She has won the election on 19th of July in 2007 and selected as the first woman president of India on 25th of July in 2007 against her competitor, Bhairon Singh Shekhawat (serving vice-president).

Achievements of Pratibha Patil as a First Woman President of India

As a first woman president of India, she has been recorded in the Indian history and became an inspiration for all the women of India.

What is President

The Indian president becomes the leader of the state of Republic of India. Officially, he is the chief of the Indian legislature, executive and judiciary as well as the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. The president of India is elected for serving the duration of 5 years by the members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, Vidhan Sabhas and Vidhan Parishads.