Sheila Dikshit, an Indian politician, was serving in the country as a Delhi Chief Minister from 1998 to 2013. She served continuously in Delhi for the three times electoral victories and led her party, the Indian National Congress. She could not lead her party further 2013 as she has lost the Assembly election.

Sheila Dikshit Facts:

Chief Minister of Delhi

In office: from 3rd of December 1998 till date

Preceded by: Sushma Swaraj

Member of Legislative Assembly, New Delhi

Gole Market: from 1998 to 2008

In office: 3rd of December 1998

Preceded by: Kirti Azad

Member of Parliament, Kannauj

In office: from 1984 to 89

Preceded by: Chhotey Singh Yadav

Succeeded by: Chhotey Singh Yadav

Member of Indian delegation

United Nations Commission on the Status of Women

In office: from 1984 to 89

Prime Minister:

  • Indira Gandhi
  • Rajiv Gandhi

Personal Details

Born: 31st of March in 1938, at Kapurthala, Punjab Province, British India

Birth Name: Sheila Kapoor

Political party: Indian National Congress

Spouse: Vinod Dikshit


  • Sandeep Dikshit (Member of Parliament in East Delhi)
  • Latika Dikshit Syed


  • Convent of Jesus and Mary School, New Delhi
  • Master of Arts degree in history from Miranda House, University of Delhi